Sophie Dupré - Science

265 Items  ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z 
WITHERING-40885-1.jpg
WITHERING (William, 1741-1799, Botanist, Geologist, Chemist, Physician and first Systematic Investigator of the Bioactivity of Digitalis)

Fine Letter Signed to Davies GIDDY (1767-1839, Cornish Engineer, Author and Politician) saying that he expects that he is in Oxford so he won't see him so he is addressing "a few lines to you to say that i shall leave a fine Specm of the aerated Barytes with Miss Russell for your use, which I hope will be aceptable, and its now become a scarce and valuable fossil. My son desires me to say that he did not forget your commission about the Bow, but having clapped his Wafer over the figures expressive of its power, he had again to write about it, and to his second letter he has had no reply, so that it is probably finished, but at any rate you may rest assured that it shall be forwarded as soon as we get homw. We were pretty successful in our Botanlresearches in Portugal, and shall be able to enrich the Flora of Europe with several non-descript species, of these we have made drawings & intend to communicate them from time to time to the Linnn Society. Kind Mrs Oliver is from home, so that I shall not see either of my fair pupils in Cornwall. Tomorrow we move slowly onward, meaning to examine the Stream work at Larnan & the mine at Polgooth as we pass. We shall coast it upwards to Southampton, Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight, & mean to reach Birmingham a little before Midsr. If we return through Oxford we shall enquire for you there but possibly you may favour us with a line at the Post Office Southampton to say what time you leave Oxford ...", 2 sides 4to., with original autograph address leaf with seal removed, Falmouth, 11th May

Item Date:  1794
Stock No:  40885      £375

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

WOOD-13549-1.jpg
WOOD (Searles Valentine Sr., 1798-1880, English Palaeontologist)

Autograph Letter Signed to Benjamin Ecroyd, adding "one to the number of your Autographs, tho' I fear but very little to their value & can only hope that the collection you are making is composed of better material", 2 sides 8vo., no place. [Hasketon, Suffolk], 9th September laid down

Item Date:  1851
Stock No:  13549      £30

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details


WOOD (Revd. John George, 1827-1889, writer on Natural History and Editor of White's 'Selborne')

Autograph letter signed to James Hain Friswell, 1825-1878, the popular writer, saying "You were mentioning a joint book. What is your idea?", adding "the C. Service Warrant is executed & there is no hope of getting payment for the past year", 1 side 7" x 4½", Belvedere, Kent, 6th July blank foot sunned without loss

Item Date:  1876
Stock No:  54200      £45

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details


YONGE (Charlotte M., 1823-1901, Novelist, Biographer & Writer for Children)

Signature taken from Autograph Letter Signed with subscription, "With much regret, yours sincerely"

Item Date:  0
Stock No:  27195      £10

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details


ZUMPT (Karl Gottlob, 1792-1849, German Classical Scholar)

Unsigned autograph address panel, to "Dr. Leonard Schmitz", 1(809-1890), "Rector of the high-school Edinburgh", laid down with a note 'was nearly blind when he wrote this direction', postmarked Berlin, British postmark 24th April

Item Date:  1848
Stock No:  13573      £35

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

First Previous ... 51 52 53 Next Last 

HyperLink      HyperLink      ABOUT SOPHIE   |   CONTACT SOPHIE   |   TERMS & CONDITIONS     
      HyperLink