Sophie Dupré - Science

13 Items  ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z 

DAMPIER (Sir William Cecil Dampier, 1867-1952, F.R.S.)

Signature from the end of a letter, n.d., c.

Item Date:  1930
Stock No:  19642      £20

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

[DARWIN (Charles, 1809-1882, Naturalist, Writer of 'The Origin of Species')]

Fine unsigned Woodburytype Portrait Photograph, by Lock and Whitfield, showing him head and shoulders, three quarter face, with his full beard, oval 4½" x 3½" on mount 10¾" x 8", no place, no date, circa

Item Date:  1880
Stock No:  54343      £975

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

DAVID (Sir (Tannatt William) Edgeworth, 1858-1934, Professor of Geology at Sydney, 1891-1924, Antarctic Explorer)

Autograph Letter Signed to 'My dear Sir', thanking him "for your very kind offer of a slab of clay shale containing fossil impressions of 'Glossopteris'", the tongue-like leaves of an extinct fossil tree of the Permian Period, "It will be I am sure a valuable addition to our Collection of fossils at the University", and saying "The bearer James Smith will bring the specimen up to the University if you will kindly let him", with a set of 7 photographs connected with Shackleton's Antarctic Expedition of 1907-1909, in which Edgeworth David went as scientist, 5 prints (including one duplicate) show David, in suit and hat, with others, looking round the Nimrod in Sydney Harbour, where he joined the expedition, and 2 prints show the grand gathering in the Great Hall of Sydney University, to welcome the expedition back, one showing a sled and some of the clothing worn, the letter 1 side 8vo., University of Sydney, 1st October 1891, mounted on a display board 20" x 16", the prints 4" x 2½" (5), 1907, and 3½" x 5½" (2), on a second board 20" x 15¼",

Item Date:  1909
Stock No:  55970      £2750

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

DAVIES (Nathaniel Edward Yorke, b. 1844, M.D., Food Writer)

Autograph Letter Signed to Mr. Robinson, of Sampson, Low, Marston & Co., saying he "sent a cheque ... about a week ago, and asked how the book was going on etc, and also suggesting that the next edition might be brought out at 2/6", he has had only a formal receipt, also has seen no advertisements for his book lately, "I dont know what I have done to offend Mr Marston ... so perhaps you will answer this letter", 3 sides 8vo, 44 Harley Street, 29th March

Item Date:  1895
Stock No:  17037      £15

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

DAVY (Sir Humphry, 1778-1829, Chemist, Inventor of the Miner's safety lamp)

Autograph Letter Signed to Mrs Scott in Tweedside, saying that her letter was waiting for him on his return to Edinburgh explaining that he "did not leave Ireland till the last week in August & since I have been in Scotland, I have been staying at Buchanan House & not expecting any letters at Edinburgh I gave no directions respecting any that might arrive there ...", thanking her and her husband for the "kind invitation to Morton. I am now called South by some engagements & I have a very short time only to stay in Scotland; but I hope I shall be able to spend one or two of the few days which remain at my disposal on the banks of the Tweed ...", hoping to call on Mrs Scott on Sunday or Monday to pay his respects and spend a day "in your hospitable mansion if I find you disengaged ...", 2 sides 4to., with integral autograph address leaf with seal, Edinburgh, 11th September

Item Date:  1823
Stock No:  40180      £1250

Add to Wish List    Order/Enquire    Full Details

First Previous 1 2 3 Next Last 

HyperLink      HyperLink      ABOUT SOPHIE   |   CONTACT SOPHIE   |   TERMS & CONDITIONS